Press "Enter" to skip to content

LS polls for Shillong, Tura on April 11

Meghalaya along with 19 other states will go to polls on April 11 to elect their members to the Lok Sabha.
The polling in Meghalaya would take place in the first phase on April 11 for two seats – Shillong and Tura.
The polling for the Lok Sabha for the 543 seats will take place in seven phases from April 11 to May 19 while the counting of votes will take place on May 23
The election dates were announced by Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora in the presence of the two Election Commissioners – Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra in New Delhi today.
With the announcement of the Lok Sabha polls 2019 by the Election Commission of India today afternoon, the model code of conduct has come into effect immediately.
In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Vincent H. Pala of Congress won the Shillong seat with the support of 2,09,340 voters (33.76 per cent vote share), while an independent candidate Prechard B M Basaiawmoit finished second by gaining the support of 1,68,961 votes (27.25 per cent).
Paul Lyngdoh of UDP came third and secured 1,06,817 votes (17.23 per cent) while BJP’s Shibun Lyngdoh got 95,979 votes (15.48 per cent).
Meanwhile, NPP’s Purno A. Sangma won the Tura seat securing 2,39,301 votes (52.22 per cent) by defeating Daryl William Cheran Momin of Congress who secured 1,99,585 votes (43.55 per cent).
Following the death of Purno Sangma in 2016, by-elections took place in which NPP’s Conrad K. Sangma won by securing 3,29,497 votes (68.16 per cent).
Conrad defeated Dikkanchi D. Shira of Congress who managed to garner only 1,37,285 votes (28.40 per cent).
Tura at present has no MP, and the seat remained vacant after Conrad resigned as Lok Sabha MP on being elected as the MLA of South Tura Assembly constituency in August last year.
Conrad, resigned as member of the Lok Sabha from Tura consituency on September 4, last year.