Press "Enter" to skip to content

HSPDP seeks reconstitution of inter-state border consultative committee

Shillong, Dec 3: The Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) had demanded re-constitution of the consultative committee on boundary issue.
The party which is part of the coalition Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government submitted a letter to chief minister, Conrad K. Sangma suggesting the government to also include stakeholders like the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council, Jaiñtia Hills Autonomous District Council and Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, as well chief of various traditional heads that have territorial jurisdiction in the disputed areas, apart from prominent social organisations as part and parcel of the consultative committee.
HSPDP president KP Pangniang reminded Chief Minister Conrad Sangma of the centre’s advice to both Assam and Meghalaya governments to settle the dispute mutually and amicably.
“In the light of such direction we would like to suggest to re-constitute the consultative committee on boundary issue (Meghalaya- As line with Notification No. POL.68/2015/35 dt. 24.02.2017 with the same term and reference or the term and reference may be further improved,” Pangniang in a memorandum he submitted.
Asking the state to treat this issue a top priority to achieve before Meghalaya attains 50 years of statehood in 2022 Pangniang said even the union home minister has also announced and assured that the inter-state boundary issue in the Northeast will be settled in two years
On August 9, 2011, during the tenure of the Congress-led governments in both the states, Meghalaya submitted documents and maps to Assam on the 12 areas of difference through the then Meghalaya chief secretary, W.M.S. Pariat, when the chief secretary-level talks was held at Dispur in Assam.
The documents and maps for around 2,700 square km disputed area were compiled by Meghalaya.
The 12 sectors comprised Block-I and Block-II, Ratacherra, Khanduli-Psiar, Khanapara-Pillingkata, Deshdemoreah, Nongwah-Mawtamur, Boklapara, Borduar, Langpih, Hahim, Gizang Reserve Forest and Upper Tarabari. About 1,500 square km of disputed area falls under Block-I and Block-II.
Pangniang said autonomous district councils should play a big role in producing documents together with the state government in proving that areas along the inter-state boundary are part of Meghalaya, historically, legally and constitutionally.