Press "Enter" to skip to content

UDA-led EC to face no confidence motion today

Shillong, Nov 19: The opposition Congress has tabled a ‘no confidence motion’ against the United Democratic Alliance (UDA)-led executive committee in Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) here today.
The executive committee is led by Chief Executive Member (CEM), Teiñwell Dkhar.
The no confidence motion was submitted to KHADC chairman, Pynshngaiñlang N. Syiem by leader of Opposition in the Council, Lamphrang Blah.
Ten members of the council, all nine from the Congress and one Independent MDC, Grace Mary Kharpuri, stood up in support of the no confidence motion today.
After fulfilling the requisite number, Syiem admitted the no confidence motion and fixed it to be taken up tomorrow after the question hour.
The KHADC has 29 members at present following the recent demise of sitting Langrin Constituency MDC, Nasar Marweiñ.
The ruling UDA has a total of 19 members comprising members from the National People’s Party (NPP), United Democratic Party (UDP), Hill State People’s Democratic Alliance (HSPDP) and People’s Democratic Front (PDF).
The UDA is a combination of the Regional Democratic Alliance (RDA) formed by the UDP and HSPDP, and the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) formed by the NPP and Independents.
The members of the ruling UDA include seven MDCs each from the UDP and NPP MDCs, two HSPDP MDCs, one PDF MDC and two Independent MDCs.